Important Dates

Open for abstract submission:

02 January 2018

Deadline for abstract submission:

30 March 2018

Notification to authors by email correspondence:

01 June 2018

Early registration deadline (including payment):

22 June 2018

Please note: If you register for the Early Registration and payment was not received by the deadline date then your registration will automatically be moved to the Late Registration.



Dr Bhavna Patel: Chair of the conference

Dr Bhavna Patel is the Chief Executive Officer of Groote Schuur Hospital. She received her medical degree at the University of Cape Town and subsequently studied towards 4 Masters degrees in Family Medicine (University of Stellenbosch), Public Health (University of Cape Town) and Bioethics and Health Law (University of Witwatersrand). She also holds a BSc degree and has completed Labour Relations and Total Quality Management programs through UNISA. Her interest is in Leadership.


Mr Errol Noel Brierley: Co-Chair of the conference

Mr Brierley is the Human Resource Manager at Groote Schuur Hospital and obtained his Masters in Administration at the University of the Western Cape in Cape Town, South Africa. His interest lies in Sustainable Development and Growth, a topic on which he has presented papers at various conferences.


Ms Noluvo Mqushulu

Ms Mqushulu is an Education, Training, and Development Practitioner who has worked in the Public Service for about 21 years. She worked for several departments, including Western Cape Education Department as well as Human Settlements, before joining the Health sector. She has a National Diploma in Human Resources Management which she obtained at CPUT. She is currently doing her Bcom in HRM through MANCOSA.



Dr Stephanus Fourie – Chairperson of the review committee

Dr Saadiq Kariem

Mrs Bernadette Arries

Dr Anthony Hawkridge

Mrs Rogini Pillay